North Cowichan candidates 2022

Each election we ask our list of One Cowichan followers what matters to them this election and what questions they'd like us to ask the candidates. This year we received numerous thoughtful responses, many with similar themes and concerns. Out of those responses, we put together nine questions and sent them to all the candidates running for election in the Cowichan Valley, with a word limit of 100 words for each question. Here are the answers from the North Cowichan candidate who replied.


Candidates for North Cowichan Mayor

Rob Douglas

Rosalie Sawrie

John Koury – did not respond

Candidates for North Cowichan Council

Dana Arthurs

Elizabeth Croft

Chris Istace

Christopher Justice

Kate Marsh

Peter W Rusland

Christopher A Shaw

Debra Toporowski


Joyce Behnsen, Charles Borg, Mike Caljouw, Joseph Enslow, Bruce Findlay, Tek S Manhas, and Adrienne Richards did not respond